Furanshisuko Sabieru (Francisco Xavier)

 Outside the Spanish and Portuguese-speaking world, my name is pretty uncommon. When I introduce myself in the States, I say my name is “like Francisco in San Francisco.” In Japan, quite a few people have asked if I have any connection to Francis Xavier, a famous Spanish missionary in Asia. I might have to reference him instead of the city of San Francisco whenever I make a formal self-introduction – self-introductions are very important in Japan!

 Fuera del mundo de habla española y portuguesa, mi nombre no es común. Cuando me presento en EEUU me dicen que mi nombre es “como Francisco en San Francisco.” En Japón, unas cuantas personas me han preguntado si tengo alguna conexión con Francisco Javier, un famoso misionero español en Asia. Voy a tener que hacer referencia a él en lugar de la ciudad de San Francisco cuando hago una auto-presentación oficial – ¡las auto-presentaciones son muy importantes en Japón!

Thanks Wikipedia! This painting is actually in a museum in Kobe, gonna have to check it out sometime |Esta imagen la saqué de Wikipedia. Actualmente esta pintura está en un museo en la ciudad de Kobe, ¡me gustaría verla algún día!

 Today was my first real day of work. I say this because today I had to do things like:

  • explain various aspects of American culture/American English compared to British English
  • proofread three or four speeches for the fall speech contests
  • plan for the upcoming English event with various teachers
  • fill out form after form after form and stamp all of them. Tax forms, residence forms, contracts, you name it… as I’ve mentioned before, the Japanese sure do love paperwork and bureaucracy!
  • meet with the principal and fill out even more forms
  • take an hour-long “business trip” to Kusatsu City

So far at the office, I’ve really been challenged to think about how I speak and use English. Some words and phrases that I might use colloquially might be words and phrases that would never appear in a Japanese textbook… I use “y’all”, “like”, and “awesome” a lot, so being more precise with my language and s-p-e-a-k-i-n-g v-e-r-y s-l-o-w-l-y has made for more effective communication. Sign language, gestures, and broken Japanese help too!

The Japanese work environment has also affected how I perceive work relationships. Japan is definitely a vertical society with a distinct hierarchy, and as a foreigner AND as a newcomer (double whammy for sure) I definitely come in pretty low on the totem pole, which I’m OK with. Since I’ve studied Japanese for a while, I think I’m expected to  use different grammatical forms (a lot of which I’ve forgotten) with people of different rankings in the office. After driving back to the school and attempting to chat about Lake Biwa and Studio Ghibli movies with one of the teachers, I felt like my brain was on fire. Japanese overload!

But even with all the new challenges, this job has been awesome so far. I talked with two teachers that I don’t even work with, one finance teacher and one world history teacher, for two and a half hours yesterday about… pretty much everything. We talked about my family, about immigration, about the history of South America, Spanish and Portuguese, Colombians/Brazilians/Peruvians, UNC basketball, Michael Jordan, Japanese education in the USA, Japanese tourists in Italy, the Kansai dialect… basically everything. I was surprised by how interested they were in my life and my experiences. Although I may be an ALT, I’m aware that I’m unofficially “on the job” even when I’m not in the classroom.

I’ve already given out a few Dr. Seuss stickers, UNC pens, and shiny pennies to some of the students I’ve worked with already. Explaining complicated grammar points and dealing with shy students might be difficult, but it’s definitely worth it at the end. Also… today I added “You have garufurendo??” to my list of “Frequently Heard Statements.” Right under “Woooow you can use chopsticks!” and “Woooow your Japanese is soooo goood!” Today a teacher got really excited that I could read Hiragana… really?

And here are some pics of a Shrine near my school. All the teachers pass by this shrine every day but none of them have actually visited it! The Japanese attitude towards shrines and temples must be similar to how Europeans regard their churches – there are some amazing ones (Notre Dame/Sagrada Familia/St. Peter’s vs. Kinkakuji/the Ise Grand Shrine/Fushimi Inari Shrine) but there are just so many that they are pretty easy to ignore.

 Hoy fue mi primer día de trabajo y me tocó hacer cosas como:

  • Explicar diversos aspectos de la cultura estadounidense, y también algunas diferencias entre el inglés estadounidense y el inglés británico
  • Corregir tres o cuatro discursos para los concursos de oratoria, son muy populares en Japón.
  • Planear para el próximo evento de inglés con los otros profesores de inglés.
  • Llenar formulario tras formulario y sellar todo. Formularios de impuestos, formularios de residencia, contratos, lo que sea… como he mencionado antes, ¡a los japoneses les encanta el papeleo, la documentación y la burocracia!
  • Reunirme con el director de la escuela y rellenar aún más formularios.
  • Tomar un “viaje de negocios” a la ciudad de Kusatsu

En la oficina me han retado a pensar en cómo hablar y utilizar el inglés. Algunas palabras y frases coloquiales que yo uso podrían ser palabras y frases que nunca aparecerían en un texto japonés…  Ser más preciso con el idioma y hablar muy despacio me ha hecho la comunicación más efectiva. ¡Utilizar gestos y mi japonés limitado también me ha ayudado!

El ambiente del trabajo japonés también ha afectado la manera en que percibo las relaciones interpersonales en el trabajo. Japón es una sociedad vertical con una jerarquía distinta, y como extranjero y recién llegado tengo un estatus social relativamente bajo, y eso me da igual. He estudiado japonés por un tiempo, y por lo tanto creo que debo utilizar diferentes formas gramaticales con las personas de mayor estatus en la oficina, pero me he olvidado mucho de etiqueta japonesa. Después de regresar a la escuela y tratar de charlar sobre el lago Biwa con uno de los profesores, me sentí como si mi cerebro se estaba cocinándose. ¡Sobrecarga japonesa!

Pero incluso con todos los nuevos retos, este trabajo ha sido increíble hasta ahora. Hablé con dos profesores con quienes no me toca trabajar, un profesor de finanzas y una profesora de historia mundial, por dos horas sobre muchos temas variados. Hablamos de mi familia, sobre la inmigración, sobre la historia de América del Sur, del español y el portugués, los colombianos, los brasileros, los peruanos, el equipo de basquetbol de mi universidad, Michael Jordan, los turistas japoneses en Italia… o sea, de todo un poco. Me sorprendió el interés que mostraron en mi vida y mis experiencias. Aunque soy maestro de inglés soy consciente de que mi trabajo no termina cuando salgo del salón – cómo me comporto en el supermercado y cómo interactuó con los demás  también es parte de mi trabajo.

Aquí les muestro algunas fotos de un pequeño santuario shintoísta cerca del colegio. Todos los profesores pasan por este santuario cada día, pero ¡ninguno de ellos lo han visitado! La actitud japonesa hacia los santuarios y templos debe ser parecido a la actitud europea en cuanto a sus iglesias: hay algunos increíbles (Notre-Dame/la Sagrada Familia/la Basílica de San Pedro vs. Kinkaku-ji (Templo del Pabellón de Oro) /el Gran Santuario de Ise/el Santuario Fushimi Inari) pero como hay tantos que existen, son bastante fáciles de ignorar.

One response to “Furanshisuko Sabieru (Francisco Xavier)

  1. hola Francisco
    si dejas acumular tus relatos en espanol despues por falta de tiempo no lo podras hacer, falta el ultimo de julio y los 4 de agosto que a la fecha has enviado, no nos abandones

Leave a Reply

